Tabia Lau discusses with us her inspirations for Indefinitely

Tabia LauWhere do you live?
I’m currently in New York City studying Playwriting at Columbia University.

Where are you from? Hometown?
Montreal, Canada.

What inspires you? What inspired this play?
What’s inspired me has always been the same but I’ve found my bravery has needed to develop as I’ve grown as a writer. I like to write about things I find are important and under-represented in public discussion: Issues of familial violence and loss, the conflict of duty and responsibility, questions of identity and feelings of belonging.  Indefinitely was the start of ideas I wanted to take further, but place out there. I think theatre is a vehicle for change, but it’s also a vehicle for comfort. I find myself inspired by events which change us, force us to think, force us to be. I wanted to write a play that explored the relationship between siblings and ultimately explore how many different kinds of abandonment issues can exist within the family circle.

What is the greatest challenge you think writers face today?
I think the greatest challenge facing all writers today is themselves. The internet has become a main and most popular medium for people to find art, to find ideas, and everything is free. Additionally, getting published is continually pressed into our minds as the finish line and top of the pyramid we should aim for, for our ideas are only validated once we can place it in our resumes. Broadway and the public theatre scene is stressing types of plays, or searching for something fresh, new, entertaining, bold, challenging, pertinent, baffling, subtly awesome, touching. Finally, critics now existing in print and online being distributed faster than the blink of an eye, and it’s truly impossible to hone your craft without acknowledging their reviews, and trying to extrapolate the constructive criticism. I think writers these days are filled with so many voices and expectations we place on ourselves, the most important thing is to stay true to your voice and keep developing it, keep working, and never stop improving.

Leave a comment

Filed under Interviews

Leave a comment